Winner Of £20,000 Keeler Scholarship Named

The 2006 winner of the £20,000 Keeler Scholarship has been named as Dr Srilakshmi Sharma, a Specialist Registrar in Medical Ophthalmology at Bristol Eye Hospital. She is the tenth winner of the Scholarship since its inception in 1990.

Dr Sharma

Dr Sharma won the prize for her proposal to undertake a two-year research programme at the Casey Eye Institute in Portland, Oregon. The research will focus on the pathogenesis of posterior uveitis, specifically exploiting Toxoplasmosis gondii as a biological probe.

“I’m very pleased to have won this Scholarship,” said Dr Sharma. “The experience will afford me the opportunity to complement research with exposure to management of patients with ocular inflammatory disease in an internationally acclaimed medical ophthalmology clinic. My aim is to utilise this period of research to make a contribution to the existing body of literature and also to further my knowledge and training in uveitis. On returning to the UK I will complete my Specialist Registrar training with a subspeciality interest in uveitis.”

The Keeler Scholarship is awarded every two years and is designed to advance the science and practice of ophthalmology by enabling the winner to study, research or acquire special skills, knowledge or experience for a minimum period of six months. Applicants are assessed by five Trustees, four of whom are ophthalmologists. The award is administered through the Royal College of Ophthalmologists.

Comments are closed.